I Never Believed This Was Possible – But Now I Do

Why Diversity Is a Good Thing

Unity in Diversity

I never believed that I view the world… AS I AM, until I read "The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People". Once I experienced this for myself by experimenting with the idea of RESPONSE-ability, I most definitely had what Oprah would call an "Ah ha!" moment and what Stephen Covey would call a "paradigm shift".

As the years went by and I read more and experienced more, I came to another, related realization that the lens (or paradigm) that I view the world through is constantly changing so long as I allow it to change. And, the more it changes, the more I become aware of (some would say "remember") the many facets and gradations that the world holds.

I've come to believe that almost nothing is black-or-white, good-or-bad, love-or-hate, or right-or-wrong. The world has infinite variations, infinite beauty, infinite paradigms. Not only that, but there is immense VALUE in those infinite paradigms.

The next time someone comes to you and says your idea is all wet, or you're all wrong, or they just disagree with you, instead of getting all upset and huffy, try RESPONDing (instead of the usual REACTing) with EXCITEMENT and EAGER ANTICIPATION of them sharing with you the way THEY look at the situation or idea. You'll be amazed at the richness and detail found when you both openly interact on the issue instead of battling one another over who's "right" and who's "wrong".

I love you.

Leave a Reply

